Ireland Ice Hockey

Ice Hockey in Ireland

Ice Hockey in Ireland is governed by the Irish Ice Hockey Association. Ireland has been a member of the International Ice Hockey Federation since 1996. Ireland Men’s national team made their International debut in 2004. Ireland last played in 2013 because they are unable to compete in any IIHF tournaments because they cannot fulfill the minimum standard of having one operational indoor rink . In 2017 Ireland Men’s national team return at inaugural Development Cup In Canillo, Andorra where they placed 2nd. The Women and Junior teams made their debuts in 2011 & 2001. This page shows the history of the Men’s, Women & Junior national teams.

Men’s National Team
IIHF Member: September 26th, 1996
Nickname: The Boys in Green
Ireland Men Official Results
Ireland Men Unofficial Results
Ireland Scoring Leaders
Other Facts:
First Official Game Played: March 16th, 2004, 8-3 loss to Mexico
First Unofficial Game Played: February 19th, 2005, 20-1 loss to Peterborough Phantoms
Longest Official Winning Streak: (3) April 14th-17th, 2010
Longest Unofficial Winning Streak: (4)  April 9th, 2011-February 5th, 2022
Longest Official Unbeaten Streak: (4) May 5th-7th, 2022
Longest Unofficial Unbeaten Streak: (4) April 9th, 2011-February 5th, 2022
Longest Official Losing Streak: (7) April 7th, 2008-April 11th, 2009
Longest Unofficial Losing Streak: (2) February 19th-20th, 2005
Biggest Official Win: 23-1 over Armenia March 8th, 2005
Biggest Unofficial Win: 10-6 over Latvian Hawks February 5th, 2022
Biggest Official Loss: 22-0 to Romania April 13th, 2011
Biggest Unofficial Loss: 20-1 to Peterborough Phantoms February 19th, 2005
Development Cup: Silver: 2017, Bronze: 2018, 2022


31 GK Chris Devine Belfast Giants (NIR)
35 GK Andrew Dickson Belfast Giants (NIR)
68 D Aaron Collins Ireland
89 D Zac Cummings  Kilkenny Storm
8 D Raimonds Karpinskis Ireland
11 D Vytautas Lukosevicius Ireland
78 D Damien Roche  Kilkenny Storm
4 D Bryan Thirsk Ireland
2 FW Darragh Bond Ireland
17 FW Jullien Brenier Ireland
15 FW Thomas Carpenter  Star-Forward HC (SUI)
10 FW Stephen Ewen Ireland
83 FW Rhys Gilfillan Ireland
9 FW Ostop Mostowy Ireland
20 FW Nolan Regan Ireland
19 FW David Sally Ireland
91 FW Gerard Spence Ireland
24 FW Declan Weir Ireland
18 FW Ronan Weir Ireland
33 FW Alec Young  Kilkenny Storm
  HC Aaron Guli (05/02/22)


Women’s National Team
IIHF Member:September 26th, 1996
Nickname: The Girls in Green
Ireland Women Official Results
Ireland Women Unofficial Results
Other Facts:
First Official Game Played: March 14th, 2011, 23-0 loss to Poland
First Unofficial Game Played: September 5th, 2009, 2-2 tie with Peking Pumas
Longest Unofficial Winning Streak: (1) May 1st, 2010
Longest Unofficial Unbeaten Streak: (1) May 1st, 2010
Longest Official Losing Streak: (6) March 14th, 2011-December 9th, 2012
Longest Unofficial Losing Streak: (6) September 5th, 2009-May 1st 2010
Biggest Unofficial Win: 4-2 over Blue Whales May1st, 2010
Biggest Official Loss: 23-0 to Poland March 14th, 2011
Biggest Unofficial Loss: 7-0 to Sodertalje SK September 5th, 2009


1 GK Rebekah Burke Ice Angeles limburg (GB)
2 GK Seanna Conway Lasker Lady Hawks (USA)
3 D Jessica Forde Cork Inline
4 D Lorna Hoey Dundalk Lady Bulls
5 D Laura Lyons Cork Inline
6 D Elaine McCann Ireland
7 D Cherise McCaughley Ireland
8 D Sonya McEneaney Dundalk Lady Bulls
9 FW Rebbecca Callan Ireland
10 FW Bonnie Collins Celtic Rovers
11 FW Victoria Day-Nicholls Celtic Rovers
12 FW Ashling Fitzpatrick Celtic Clovers
13 FW Emma Fletcher Molly Malones
14 FW Rachel Glynn Celtic Rovers
15 FW Shona Higgins Ireland
16 FW Beatrice Hosgood Ireland
17 FW Sinead Jennings Galway Bay Lighting
18 FW Jane McMullen Molly Malones
19 FW Avirl Ni Mhathuna Molly Malones
  HC Vytautas Lukosevicius (2013 Squad)


U20 National Team
IIHF Member: September 26th, 1996
Ireland U20 Official Results
Other Facts:
First Official Game Played: April 26th, 2001, 10-0 loss to Luxembourg
Longest Official Losing Streak: (2) April 26th-28th, 2001
Biggest Official Win: 10-0 over Ireland April 27th, 2001
Biggest Official Loss: 20-1 to Iceland April 28th, 2001


1 GK Dermot Carney Dublin
2 GK Aaron Cronin Dublin
3 D Graham Carey Dublin
4 D Philip Darcy Dublin
5 D Emmet Dowling Dublin
6 D Jonathan Dunne Dublin
7 D James Healy Dublin
8 D Ray Keane Dublin
9 D David Kelly Dublin
10 D Lyne Lyne Dublin
11 FW Allan Browne Dublin
12 FW Stephen Cooper Dublin
13 FW Ross Cronin Dublin
14 FW Ross Killen Dublin
15 FW Mark Ockenden Dublin
16 FW Brain Pemberton Dublin
17 FW Marc-Macliam William Dublin
HC Peter Lalore (2001 Squad)


Irish Ice Hockey Association

Irish Ice Hockey Association